The Fallout

Where to start…

The past few days have been emotional to say the least. Donald Trump is our president-elect. Tuesday night, or rather Wednesday morning, ended in really different emotions. Some people were excited and happy, and others were filled with sadness and fear.

For many, “President Trump” will be hard words to get used to. For others, they are elated to have him as our 45th president. Social media has proven a major outlet for everyone’s frustration and it has been really damaging. People from both sides have been upset at the others.

I’ve seen hate from both sides all over Facebook and Twitter and many heated arguments. It pains me to see people have such animosity towards one another.

Many people close to me have already been the recipient of racist comments, straight up bullying, and name calling. I understand that Trump voters are recieving hatred too, but from what I’ve seen, minorities, non-Christians, LGBTQ+, women, etc. are actually scared because they do not know what is going to happen to them.

They fear the type of treatment that Muslims got all across America after the terrorist attacks on September 11th, 2001. That right there is what people fear from Trump supporters.

The KKK’s open support of Donald Trump, the appearnace of swastikas spray painted on buildings, children chanting “BUILD THAT WALL” in elementary schools to their Latinx classmates, Muslim parents telling their children to refrain from wearing their hijab, etc. are all examples of how this country has changed with just one man being elected.

Liberals are NOT “overreacting” or “throwing tantrums” as Miss Tomi Lahren put it. Democrats are protesting Trump’s victory because it symbolizes the galvanization of people who have true hatred in their hearts.

Yes, I realize and acknowledge that not every person who voted for Trump is a homophobe, islamaphobe, racist, misogynist, xenophobe. I realize that some of you felt like you had no other option, you didn’t want Trump but you wanted Clinton even less. But to my friends and family who voted for Trump, hear this.

Just like it would not be right for Democrats to generalize all Trump supporters, you cannot generalize all liberals as, as Tomi Lahren put it, crybabies throwing a tantrum. Most people I know that attend protests are nonviolent and don’t vandalize property or assault people.

I’ve tried to stay off of Facebook as much as possible today, because the fighting amongst my friends and family has started to really get to me. I don’t think it’s any secret that I’m not a Trump supporter, but I don’t hate anyone who voted for him. Hate won’t fix anything, only love.

Anyways, that is my 2 cents for now.

Leave a comment