What’s the Scoop? with Khuyen

I interviewed Khuyen, a junior at the University of Houston, about the prevalence of fake news in today’s society and this is what she had to say.

Do you think that there are a lot of fake news sites and articles?

I don’t know about “a lot” of news articles and websites, bu I know that some do write fake stuff or things that are only half true or twist the truth.

Are you aware of Facebook and Google cutting off revenue from fake news ads on their websites?

No I wasn’t. Is that legal or is that considered messing with freedom of speech? If it’s legal I think that is a good thing. Fake news is bad because a lot of people don’t do their research to try to see if it’s real or not.

Do you think that fake news affected the presidential election?

Yes, I think it was because it made each side hate the other even more. Regular every day people would just see headlines claiming Hillary did this or Trump did that and just believed what was said without questioning it.

Have you heard about the Russians helping spread fake news? 

Wow no I didn’t know about that. I know that there was talk about them messing with the election, but I didn’t know they were spreading fake news.

Do you think fake news should have any regulation or be banned?

I wish it could be but I don’t think it can because freedom of speech unless it’s libel. I don’t know. I think it should be regulated or banned but I don’t think it can be.

 

As you can see, some Americans aren’t fully aware of the prevalence of fake news in our online media which is a little scary. Hopefully with Google and Facebook taking steps to disenfranchise fake news, it will reduce the amount of it.

Leave a Reply

